The Lie of Love

The first real boyfriend that I had was where I found my worth.

Like most girls, my first and foremost goal was to get and keep the boy—no matter what it meant. If I had a boyfriend, people would see me as dateable, and I would probably be liked. It all sounds so shallow, yet I loved the attention. I yearned for the reputation. I searched for love through our relationship.

Every day it became more and more clear to me that the love he was giving me was not what I needed. So what did I do? I tried to get more. If our relationship could just grow a bit stronger, I would be satisfied with myself. I could prove that I was worthy of another person’s love.

It took my entirely too long to realize that His love is temporary. It is not the kind of love that would fill the void I was experiencing.

__________________________________________________________________

But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Romans 5:8

___________________________________________________________________

As I searched for my source of love, I was always left unsatisfied. No one and nothing could fill the void I felt within my heart. Yes, I felt moments of happiness. Its like I would find a very temporary high on the words “I love you” from a boy or the words “I want to be like you” from my friends.

At the end of the day, I only wanted more.

phonto-5The world will seek to show you a type of love. It will tell you that when you are happy, that’s when you are loved. When you get what you want, you are experiencing the love of the world.

Friend, true love is so much better than that of the world.

1 John 4:8 proclaims that “God is love.” He is the very definition of love. And Romans tells us exactly what that love looks like. His death on the cross.

As much as we do not want to hear it, our sin can only be paid off through death. So He did that. He paid the price that no human could or would do. He died for the people who spit in His face every day. He died for those who deny Him and tell Him that His death is not good enough.

Any other kind of love the world might try to sell us is a lie.

phonto-4No boy will give you the kind of love that Christ did. No friendship can produce the kind of love like Christ did. No amount of praise can create the kind of love that Christ is.

If God is love, than the world is not. It doesn’t matter how good those things are, they cannot die for your transgressions.

I am not saying that being in relationship is a bad thing, but when search for the source of love in another person, we miss the point. My boyfriend loves the Lord more than he loves anything else. Yet, his does not define my worth. And if for even one minute I become distracted from Christ’s love because of Austin’s love, I have become distracted from what matters. Our relationship stops being glorifying to God.

No person, no matter how “Godly” they are, can produce real love.

If God is love, He is the only love who can truly give love.

Leave a Reply

